Ceilidh (pronounced Kaylee)

I didn’t post yesterday because I spent all day at the infamous YSA convention I’ve been mentioning. In my church, they like to take every opportunity possible to gather the young adults together to have fun and usually do some kind of service. So the young adults in my church from all over Britain gathered this weekend for the convention in Chorley, England. To give you an idea of where that is:

So helpful.

After a day of learning and service, we had a dance. At first, it was a lame, average, stand-in-a-circle-and-wiggle-to-the-beat, high school style dance. Then the Scots took over. Bless them.

A Ceilidh is a traditional Scottish dance party. The dances require a partner, but you often switch partners several times, so there is no awkwardness involved. The dance patterns use circles and lines, mimicking Celtic knot patterns.

I was immediately swept back to my days of traditional Scottish dance class when I was a kid. Yep, I totally was so cool, I took Scottish dance classes (I’ve been obsessed with Celtic culture for as long as I can remember, okay?). I actually recognized two of the dances we did. It was a proud moment for me.

Since I was dancing, unfortunately I couldn’t take pictures for you, but I found some on Google that I think will give you a good idea.

As if the kilts didn’t leave me breathless enough (yes, there were men in kilts there. Yes, one of them was a ginger). This was legitimately the most fun I’ve ever had dancing in my entire life. My. Entire. Life. I want to Ceilidh every night forever.

For even better visuals, and to see some of the dances we actually did, watch this video:

And when life gets hard,

I LOVE SCOTLAND.

3 responses to “Ceilidh (pronounced Kaylee)

  1. Looks fun! I have been to an Irish Caeli (the ‘a’ and ‘e’ are supposed to be smashed together, but I’m not sure how to do that), and it was a blast!

Leave a Reply

