First World Problems

Notice: I am not using this post to complain. None of these problems are actually huge burdens to me. I just find them amusing.

Here is a list of problems I’m running into that are different than my first world problems in America.

1. My shower does not get cold enough. I try to rinse off with cold water after the main part of my shower, you know, to close up the pores and whatnot. Also because I’m naturally warm and if I get out of the shower and the bathroom is too steamy I will be overheated for the rest of the day, or I’ll start sweating right out of the shower and won’t be able to stop for far too long (and drying sweat off your body as you’re drying the water from the shower is annoying, because what was the point of the shower?). But my shower here doesn’t get cold at all. At the end of my showers, I turn my dial as far as it will go toward the cold, and I get lukewarm for about 30 seconds before it is warm again. Not as warm, but still warm.

 

ImageImage2. My new shoes make holes in my heels that bleed everywhere. The top pic is my right heel, the second is my left heel. The hole in my left heel came form a day I was walking around Edinburgh for about five hours. Those were actually old shoes, and I was surprised they were rubbing into my heel in such a way to cause bleeding. I guess because in America I drove everywhere and probably didn’t ever walk in them for five hours straight. The hole in my right foot (accompanied by a blister covering my entire pinky toe) is from a new pair of flats I bought here. Usually happens in the breaking in process, but nevertheless, there is a circle of blood on my jeans now.

Image3. These bandages don’t exactly stay in place. The bandages I got for my heels (which contain a thick pad to relieve any pressure on the injury, and have medication in the pad to induce healing) slip a little bit if you’re wearing shoes that rub against them. This was mildly irritating in all the dancing I did this weekend, and I had to replace them three times. Now I’ve just decided to wear boots for a few days until the holes scab over. Good thing I have plenty of shoes to choose from!

IMG_0090

4. I don’t have a dryer, so I have to hang dry my clothes. Most flats here don’t come with a dryer. So we have these convenient racks on which we hang our clothes to dry. I have to do my laundry a few days before I’ll need the clothes again, because it will take them that long to dry out (depending on the material). This means I need to do my laundry about once every 10 days (both the colored load and the white load) instead of once a month for the colored and every two weeks for the whites.

5. I don’t have a jacket thin enough for the current weather. It’s far too cold for short sleeves. During the day it’s too warm for straight up sweaters, and even at night it’s too warm for a full on coat (although some people are wearing them all day, remember I am naturally warm). What I need is a thin jacket, that’s not lined with fleece or anything, to wear when I go walking for five hours. Cause usually by the time I’m heading home it’s too cold for what I set out in, but I’ve gotten way too hot when I wear any of the jackets I have.

 

6. I can’t buy all the tartans. I’m a poor Masters student. Otherwise I would clean out one of the touristy shops and just swim through all my tartan like Scrooge McDuck swimming in his money. Nothing excites me more than plaid. Except gingers. Or gingers in plaid.

3 responses to “First World Problems

    • I got the generic brand at Boots. They were specially designed for blisters and sores on your heels! I guess they didn’t count on you continuing to wear the same shoes…but I bought them specifically for the dance because my other black flats are falling apart. Haha

Leave a Reply

