I’ve Never Liked Grocery Shopping

For the past few days, I’ve been barely surviving. Because I seriously hate going out to the store and buying food.

Before I came here, I had a nice cushy office job where I ate breakfast and lunch at work. And I had enough friends to give me an excuse to eat dinner most nights of the week, as well as parents living close enough by that I could go to their house and eat whatever I wanted.

But here, I have a very loosely structured schedule four days of the week, and therefore often don’t eat until after 1pm. Some days it’s been closer to 5pm. Even on the days when I have school, I’m out of the house and if I don’t bring food with me, then I just don’t eat until I get home at 5pm. So basically, I’m eating an average of 14 meals/week.

But today, I decided I really needed to go for reals grocery shopping. But I also challenged myself to stay under £20.

Here’s what I was able to buy:

  1. About 3 lbs of potatoes
  2. Frozen Chicken
  3. Goji Berries
  4. Bananas
  5. Grapes
  6. Tortillas
  7. Two kinds of cheese
  8. Sour Cream
  9. Two little meat pies (for my Scottish experience)
  10. A bag of salad
  11. A loaf of bread
  12. A loaf of gingerbread
  13. A small “bin” for my room

I feel like I did pretty well. In addition to the bits of food I have at home, this will probably last me two weeks. 🙂 Except I forgot to get more peanut butter. 😦 😦

Now, as is customary, some quirky pictures to give you an idea of how food is different here:ImageHow fresh are these eggs?

Image

That fresh (but this is not nearly as disturbing as the feather I found in my strawberries).

ImageThis is the tiny pot in which I make my porage (oatmeal). Tablespoon on the right so you can get the proportions.

ImageAnd my delicious porage (flavored with honey, raisins, cinnamon, nutmeg, and occasionally peanut butter or Nutella).

ImageSome fantastic potato chip (crisp) flavors.

ImageOne of the best purchases of my life.

Image“Squidgy” means gooey…but still not sure of the purpose of a “malt loaf.”

ImageAlso a brilliant find (it’s a cake)! LOOOOVE them!

Leave a Reply

