Oh Beautiful for Spacious…ness.

What’s one thing that is essential to life in America?

Europeans might give you various answers, but I think one that the whole world would agree on is bulk products.

Well over here in Edinburgh, there’s only one place to get bulk products. Costco. And that’s where I went today.

Surprisingly, there were actually some American products there that I haven’t seen anywhere else. It was kind of surreal and very nostalgic, as I have been to a Costco (or Sam’s Club) only twice since I was about ten and going to the grocery store with my mom was cool (or mandatory). I didn’t ever go in my own adult years because I didn’t see the point of buying in bulk except for parties, and in that case I usually sent someone else to Costco for me. Haha.

Here’s what I found today:

They have peanut butter at most grocery stores...but it is not the same flavor or texture as American peanut butter.

They have peanut butter at most grocery stores…but it is not the same flavor or texture as American peanut butter.

There are also a lot of rebranded or knock-off cereals here...but this is my first finding of Huney Nut Cheerios, which are my favorite.

There are also a lot of rebranded or knock-off cereals here…but this is my first finding of Honey Nut Cheerios, which are my favorite.

One of the reasons we went to Costco in the first place...this looks like enough to survive for a month.

One of the reasons we went to Costco in the first place…this looks like enough to survive for a month.

Big, fatty olive oil. I use olive oil for ALL of my oil needs.

Big, fatty olive oil. I use olive oil for ALL of my oil needs.

There are other hot sauces, but this is the first sighting of Tabasco, as well as soy sauce. :)

There are other hot sauces, but this is the first sighting of Tabasco, as well as soy sauce. 🙂

Fries. FRIES. Not chips.

Fries. FRIES. Not chips.

One part of America I do not miss: ketchup in general, and inadequate yellow "mustard."

One part of America I do not miss: ketchup in general, and inadequate yellow “mustard.”

 

Those big muffins :'(

Those big muffins 😥

Those big cakes with the frosting that makes my mouth tingle!

Those big cakes with the frosting that makes my mouth tingle!

See that? "Product of USA"

See that? “Product of USA”

Now, for some cruel reminders that brought me back to the UK:

Big Costco hot dog! Oh...some weird Scottish pie...

Big Costco hot dog! Oh…some weird Scottish pie…

In what language does that spell tire?

In what language does that spell tire?

And because this amuses me:

Ikea and Costco right next to each other...probably the biggest retail buildings in all of Scotland.

Ikea and Costco right next to each other…probably the biggest retail buildings in all of Scotland.

 

And across the street? The only 24-hour market I'm aware of. Owned by? Wal-mart.

And across the street? The only 24-hour market I’m aware of. Owned by? Wal-mart.

Unfortunately, the bus ride to Costco is almost an hour, and with all the stopping and going and round-abouts (because those are HUGE here), I got pretty dangerous motion sickness (yeah, I get that pretty easily). So my trips to Costco will probably be infrequent at best. But always a comfort to know it’s there. 🙂

2 responses to “Oh Beautiful for Spacious…ness.

  1. Oh, you’re so lucky!

    Cottage pie is what Shepherd’s Pie is based off of. So not (quite) as weird as it sounds, especially since that one is beef and not lamb.

  2. Hi, Laura. I love stalking your blog because that’s what I do best . . . blog stalking. Thanks for living in Scotland.

Leave a Reply

