The Nerd Factor.

You know, I just sat here for about twenty minutes trying to figure out something to write about.

Today I went Christmas shopping, since I have to mail everything in time for it to get there for Christmas, I have to be a little early.

And then I went to see the most depressing Woody Allen movie, Blue Jasmine. It seriously made me question everything in my life. What’s the point of life?! But I got over it.

Because after that depressing movie, I went to hang out with a bunch of awesome people. While there, I got in not one, but a few conversations about beautiful nerdiness, so that’s what I’ve decided to talk about.

Harry Potter. (Also, Rupert’s utterly perfect lips!! Look at them!!)

It sincerely brings deeper meaning to life. Harry Potter teaches incredible lessons about prejudice, international cooperation, love, loss, the influence of a stable family, and the responsibility associated with power. Naturally, there are tons of other things that teach these lessons, but Harry Potter has gingers. Lots of them. πŸ™‚

I once read an article in National Geographic about the power of soccer. How soccer fans may become crazy and violent, but more often, there have been wars stopped or alliances formed (even if temporarily) all in the name of a soccer cup. If you think this is an exaggeration, you can look up the article on National Geographic. It’s from the June 2006 issue. (It won’t let me link it here, or else I’d give it to you.)

In much the same way, Harry Potter makes instant friendships. I don’t care who you are, where you’re from, what you did, as long as you love Harry Potter. Sure, there are loads of Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Star Trek, Big Bang, Doctor Who, Sherlock fans out there. But when I meet them, there isn’t the instant kinship. It’s like, cool, glad you’re a good person. Actually I’ve never watched Doctor Who so maybe there is that kinship and I’m missing out on it. Anyway, when I meet a Harry Potter fan, I just want to hug them and bask in their presence as long as humanly possible, because I know that they know what I know.

Which is: It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live. It is our choices that show us who we truly are…far more than our abilities. Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, when one only remembers to turn on the light. We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided. Of course it is happening inside your head…but why on earth should that mean it is not real? And finally, it matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be.

And these are the kind of lessons that help people become more conscious of their interactions with others, how they treat others, and live with hope and love in their hearts. Okay, I’ll stop because Harry Potter is starting to sound like a religion…

But in the interest of entertainment, here is a video my friend sent me by way of argument. Of course, anyone who’s read Joseph Campbell’s Hero with a Thousand Faces or knows about Jungian archetypes sees these connections right away, but this guy explains it so artfully. πŸ™‚

5 responses to “The Nerd Factor.

  1. Harry on broomsticks and Ron’s ginger freckles; Butterbeer in mugs at the Leaky Cauldron; Wingardium Leviosa making things zing; These are a few of my favorite things… I might be a nerd, too πŸ™‚ I also love the other shows/movies you mentioned, but you are right about the HP thing. I actually don’t tell many how much I love HP because I don’t think anyone other than a true HP fan would get it.

  2. Just in case you don’t know the movie, the first part of my comment above should be sung to the tun of “My Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music πŸ™‚

  3. Wow! What a great post! I totally agree. Harry Potter has so many lesson to teach. I love how you say, “Harry Potter teaches incredible lessons about prejudice, international cooperation, love, loss, the influence of a stable family, and the responsibility associated with power.” These stories give us a common ground and common people/characters through which we can discuss huge issues. πŸ™‚

    I also love your line…”When I meet a Harry Potter fan, I just want to hug them and bask in their presence as long as humanly possible, because I know that they know what I know.” This is totally how I feel (although I do my best to restrain from unwanted hugs πŸ™‚ )! I love finding someone who can understand what I talk about when i make HP references. We end up talking for hours even though we have just met. πŸ™‚

    Thank you for sharing! I would love to hear more about what you have learned from HP. πŸ™‚

    ~Aspen

  4. I think that the responses I got on this post are proof enough of how wonderful the HP connection is! And I will certainly keep writing about it throughout my blog. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

