NaNoWriMo

So I decided to take on the crazy challenge of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) in the middle of the first semester of my grad school degree, which is also requires consistent writing of a different kind. I’m a little afraid of being written-out by the end of this month. That, or else it will be the best experience of my life and I will be addicted to writing and become a New York Times bestselling author and a Hollywood blockbuster screenwriter. Which is completely plausible, of course.

NaNoWriMo

I’m mega breaking the rules of NaNoWriMo. For those of you who don’t know the rules:

  • Write 50,000 words during the month of November.
  • The novel must be an original project – something you have not worked on before.
  • The novel must be fiction.
  • The 50,000 words should apply to one project only.

I am writing a creative non-fiction book. I’ve been working on it since 2008. It had 58,880 words already at the beginning of November. I may include my screenplays in my word count at the end of the month if I have to, but I do sincerely want to keep the word count just to the non-fiction.

There have been chapter placeholders sitting in my book for years, slowing getting words attached to the titles of each chapter. You can ask my editor (a friend from university), how annoying it’s been to receive copies of my book and having to scroll through pages of blank chapter headers. My goals is to fill them all up by the end of November, or at least most of them.

It’s day three, and I’ve already completed one new chapter. I’m now on another. I’m writing about a friend from high school, and listening to the music I often listened to with him to get me in the right mind set. Audioslave, 3 Doors Down, Good Charlotte…oh the memories. It’s incredible how music can transport you through space and time.

Anyway, I’m excited about the opportunity to get so much writing done. It’s going to feel incredible by the end of the month. IF I complain in the meantime, I give you all permission to give me a cyber-slap in the comments. It’s worth it, baby!!

Leave a Reply

