Remembrance/Veterans’ Day

In Britain, the tradition for Remembrance Day is to wear a poppy (which you can get at many stores by donating to the veterans’ fund,
“poppy appeal,” or probably buy one in many other ways, but that’s how I got mine). A lot of people wear their poppies for weeks leading up to Remembrance Day.

The use of the poppy comes from the poem “In Flanders Fields,” and was actually started by an American, but Britain adopted the tradition and kept it alive (more details found on Wikipedia). I think it is a really beautiful tradition, to wear something physical to commemorate those who have died in war for your country. I’ve seen a lot of posts on Facebook today about being thankful for veterans, but I feel like the physical token adds so much more.

I don’t personally know anyone who went to war and died there, but I do know a lot of people who went to war and changed there. I believe in freedom and liberty, and that they should be fought for, but I also believe there are boundaries between a righteous, a cruel, and a pointless fight, and that often these boundaries become confused and many suffer as a result.

My boyfriend recently asked me what I would change if I could change one thing in the world. My answer was that everyone could respect each others’ differences without fighting about it. I know, it’s big talk from a girl who has literally said on a first date “if you don’t like Harry Potter, there’s no point in getting to know me.” (Don’t worry, there was no second date and I’m totally fine with that.) I just think war is such a huge tragedy. Maybe sometimes it’s necessary. But maybe sometimes, it’s just bloody carnage.

One response to “Remembrance/Veterans’ Day

Leave a Reply

