Please Don’t Stop the Music

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I want to write musicals.

Based on my favorite rock artists. Because I don’t actually have any music or lyric writing talent.

So I’ve started doing some research on different rock musicals for both the stage and film. And to be honest, the only film one I’ve seen that I really love is Sunshine on Leith (my review here), and of course there is Glee which I love. But there are some stage ones that I really like (now these musicals aren’t actually based on the music from rock bands, like the ones I’m planning on writing, but they are stage musicals with rock music instead of typical broadway music):

  • Rent
  • Aida
  • Bye Bye Birdie
  • Evita
  • Little Shop of Horrors
  • Miss Saigon

And there are a bunch that I want to look further into:

  • tick, tick…BOOM
  • Jersey Boys
  • Spiderman: Turn Off the Dark
  • Next to Normal
  • Chess
  • The Wiz

What I’m wondering from you, great readers of my blog, is who’s music would you like to see in a musical? Or do you think that musicals based on popular music are a bad idea?

6 responses to “Please Don’t Stop the Music

  1. have you seen the buzzfeed article about the new musical trying to get off the ground with Britney spears music? it is a musical about the life of Jesus, only with Britney spears music. what!?

  2. you should see Jersey Boys in London! It’s so fun. I’m also a little bit obsessed with Chess.

    What about a musical based on the Corrs? They’ve got a large discography and a hardcore fan base and the Irish thing going for them.

  3. Well, I for starters would have loved to see Moulin Rouge! on Broadway, and all the music in that film is modern, non-related, rock/pop music. (The 2001 version with Ewan McGregor.)

    Or, you could just make the Swan Princess into a Broadway musical. Lets be honest, that REALLY needs to happen eventually.

  4. Pingback: The Producers | Coming Through the Rye·

Leave a Reply

