Catching Fire

I’m going to try really hard to be brief since I have to leave for class in eight hours and I’d like to sleep between now and then, for a good portion of that time. So here it goes…

Within the first three minutes, I was shaking, which corporeal response extended through the rest of the 143 minutes of the film. I nearly broke my boyfriend’s hand a few times, and once I think I was close to drawing blood with my fingernails.

When I got home, I took an extremely hot bath doused with essential oils so that my muscles might have a chance to calm down and survive another day.

Something about Katniss draws me 100% into her emotional world. I relate to her on so many levels: disregard for rules I don’t understand or agree with, complete tunnel vision, and generally extreme confusion about males and how they work and how I feel about them. That’s on the surface level. There is something much deeper that I can’t explain. When I read the books, it was like I had found a piece of myself that had been missing since birth; even though I hadn’t realized it was missing, when I found it, everything made so much more sense.

For those reasons, it’s really hard for me to look at any Hunger Games installment with a critical eye. But that’s a really, really good thing. Because if they were badly made movies, then I wouldn’t get so sucked in. But what I absolutely love about the cast and crew of the Hunger Games is that they are meticulously dedicated to presenting the theme accurately, in a moving way. And because of that dedication, the movies turn out brilliantly and do not disappoint the fan base (except for extreme purists probably). Everyone working on those movies believes that the message is one that needs to be heard, and they are going to do everything in their duty to make sure it’s portrayed the right way. That is good filmmaking.

That being said, here are some things I was sad that they left out:

1. Plutarch Heavensbee showing Katniss his mockingjay watch.

2. Peeta and Katniss watching the games Haymitch won.

Yeah, that’s all. Everything else they may have left out I feel was acceptable, or I didn’t notice (and therefore, it’s clearly not important).

I’ve heard some distress about the ending, so here’s my opinion of it. Fairly cheap screenwriting trick, to blur up the ending by giving us a close up of a facial expression. However, I’d give Jennifer Lawrence every award in the book for that facial expression. Because she effectively portrays a major shift in her entire character with only a few muscles moving in and extreme close up. That is quality acting.

*Slow clap for Jennifer Lawrence*

Leave a Reply

