Andrew Lloyd Webber

Tonight I got to see The Phantom of the Opera in London, which has been one of my life goals for a long time! Well, since the last time I was in London, 5 1/2 years ago!

I don’t like all of Andrew Lloyd Webber’s musicals, but I definitely love Phantom, and its sequel Love Never Dies, which tanked in London, but with some revamp, was hugely successful in Sydney.

Here’s what I love about both of these musicals: there are a few songs in each when 3-4 people are singing their own story lines on different but corresponding melodies. You pretty much have to listen to the soundtrack a few times to catch everything that’s going on.

Here’s what I love about these songs: Each character in a story is thrown in there with a bunch of other characters. They each bring a different background and viewpoint to the story. They are each a part of the problem and part of the solution. And here they are, struggling together to get through to the end of the story. I think Webber expresses this beautifully through music.

I’ll shamelessly plug Love Never Dies (which I personally believe to be Webber’s best music ever) by posting a video of one of my favorite multi-part songs from it:

3 responses to “Andrew Lloyd Webber

  1. Pingback: No Matter What by Andrew Lloyd Webber | hopeandloveradio·

Leave a Reply

