Cromarty Film Festival III: The Films

I sincerely apologize for dragging the film festival posts over the course of a week. Turns out the end of a trimester takes up your time. Something about final papers being due and attempting to care about the marks I get.

At the film festival, we were busy doing all kinds of things, so we didn’t get to see too many films. But we saw enough.

There were a lot of interesting shorts (which I am growing more tolerant to, even liking some more). Here is one (a documentary) that I find very intriguing…

As for feature films, I only got to see three.

The first was Thelma and Louise. A classic. And for good reason. Absolutely incredible storytelling. If you want to learn how to raise active questions and thwart expectations, watch this movie. Every scene had a purpose and lead the story in a new direction. Seriously it was incredible. The subject matter is not for the faint of heart, however.

The next was The Secret of the Loch. If you haven’t seen the 1933 version of King Kong, please do. And then imagine the exact same movie only with the Loch Ness monster instead of a giant gorilla.

But I still enjoyed it. There’s something about those very early films that still holds weight. They aren’t so flashy (spoiler: they use an iguana to play the Loch Ness monster in this film. Hilarious!), so they had to use wit and actually plot movement to capture people’s attention. Very innovating.

The last movie I saw I cannot recommend enough to everyone in the world. Untouchable, a recent French film. I heard they are re-releasing it in English.

Arguably, there isn’t much drama or plot movement in this film. It is more focused on its fascinating characters. It’s about this quadriplegic older man who hires a young thug who just got out of jail to be his caretaker. It’s absolutely beautiful and absolutely hilarious. We watched it in French with subtitles. I felt like the translation was probably more vulgar than what the actual French is, because that’s been my experience with German films I’ve seen. I hope when they do re-release it, it will be more friendly to a wider audience, because no one should miss out on this masterpiece. I learned a lot about making interesting characters and sparkling dialogue from watching this film.

Leave a Reply

