Christmas Markets

Six years ago I spent Christmas in Germany, and it was honestly the most beautiful Christian-feeling Christmas I’ve ever had. Even though I was away from my family for the first time at Christmas, it was still a wonderful season. This year, I will be in Germany for Christmas again, and I am so excited!! So this post will be about one of my most favorite German Christmas traditions: The Christkindlmarkt. AKA the Christmas Market.

What happens is that the Fussgangerzone (pedestrian zone; basically where all the good shopping is) of downtown gets turned into rows and rows of booths of artisans selling their wares, food vendors roasting bratwurst and pouring gluhwein, and everyone having a lovely time despite the chill.

Fortunately for me, Edinburgh also has a Christmas market, so I don’t have to wait all the way until this weekend to go to one. I went tonight with my boyfriend (who is conveniently German and understands the importance of the Christmas market).

At Edinburgh’s Christmas market, they have a huge Ferris wheel, a carousel, and ice skating. Pretty fancy. But the vendors are pretty much exactly what the German vendors are. Toys. Candles. Soaps. Wooden carvings. Jewelry. Pottery. Christmas decorations. Garden decorations. Random beautiful trinkets.

Let’s just say I had to get steered away from booths constantly. Haha. We also had Käsekrainer, which is bratwurst with cheese and bacon inside…and Austrian. What a great country.

So here are some delightful pictures:

These are those delicious würsti…

On the carousel…

The Ferris wheel…

And this wonderful Germanness… 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

