Bonn

Bonn. The first European city I lived in, that will always hold a very special place in my heart. It’s about 2 1/2 hours from Frankfurt by train, so we made a day trip out of it today.

Some interesting facts about Bonn:

  • It is one of Germany’s oldest cities (1st century BC)
  • It was the capitol of West Germany
  • Beethoven was born there
  • There are 18 UN institutions in Bonn
  • Along the Rhein on the borders of Bonn is where Siegfried slew the dragon

Imagine the joy of coming back to a city that feels like your soul mate after 5 years’ absence. That’s what I felt like when I saw this sign. šŸ™‚

Bonn is right on the Rhein (Rhine) river, and there is a huge park called the Rheinaue that goes for miles along the bank. I spent a lot of time in that park playing with the boys I nannied, and here is a picture of a Japanese garden that we particularly enjoyed there.

And here is that wonderfully majestic Rhein.

This is the biggest church in Bonn. Nothing compared to most European cathedrals, but I still think it’s nice.

As I mentioned, Bonn is where Beethoven was born, so here is the statue honoring him (how many times have I mentioned how much I love that Europeans make statues to honor everyone and everything?!)

And here is the house where he was born:

Bonn is a beautiful, small city with a lot to offer, especially in the way of museums, and I also highly, highly recommend the Rheinaue park for a stroll and Drachenfels for a hike (where Siegfried killed the dragon, for more details, Wikipedia). Next time you plan a trip to Germany, do not miss out on this delight.

Leave a Reply

