Stockholm Syndrome

Stockholm syndrome, or capture–bonding, is a psychological phenomenon in which hostages express empathy and sympathy and have positive feelings toward their captors, sometimes to the point of defending them. (Wikipedia article)

So basically, even though Stockholm gave me a traumatic experience this time around, I still found myself thinking of excuses to live there. Here are some pictures of my incredibly beautiful day walking around the city.

First of all, the sun was gorgeous:

Secondly, the bridges were gorgeous:

Thirdly, I love statues, as usual:

And government buildings:

And this is just epic:

And I found a viking ship!!:

This is the royal palace, where the royal family still lives and works, while tourists can receive tours, making it quite unique among European palaces. Also, there were several female guards which I thought was awesome:

The “Old Town”, Gamla Stan, is actually a small island on its own, but it’s where the medieval Stockholm blossomed and has the skinniest streets ever!:

The Nobel Prize museum (I want to come back to Stockholm just to spend a day here!):

And these very famous traditional Swedish buildings that look like how Christmas feels:

The three crowns make up the symbol of Sweden:

And this place, where I spent so much of my time trying to figure out lost/stolen/mismanaged possessions it makes me sick. But the lights are lovely:

And there you have it. A beautiful city, full of some of the friendliest Europeans I know, and wonderful history. Go visit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

