Haggis

So I went to a belated Robert Burns celebration a few days ago in Dundee, across the Firth Forth. It’s about an hour drive, but we got lost near the end.

Not usually a big deal, but I am very prone to motion sickness, and I’ve found that the whole wrong side of the road thing has amplified that problem a bit. Combine that with dark country roads and high speeds, and let’s say I turned up at the Burns ceilidh absolutely sweating at the idea of being twirled around the dance floor.

What helps when you are motion sick? For me, eating something heavy and salty. My theory is that I need something to anchor my stomach down. So naturally, I show up at the dance and the first thing I begin to eat is haggis.

Here I am, feeling like my head will topple off and my stomach is inside out, and I grab a plateful of ground up “offal,” the organs of a sheep or pig that you don’t really want to eat (such as lungs) that’s been boiled inside a bladder. Sounds like the perfect solution, right?

Besides haggis being the traditional food for Burns celebrations, it’s actually really good. It tastes like summer wind and the smell of dirt after rain. Basically: it’s amazing. Or at least pleasantly surprising.

I first tasted haggis at the Scottish festival in Highland, Utah. I first had it here in Scotland in my university’s cafeteria, which is awesome about serving heaping plates of traditional food incredibly cheap.

Face your fears and try haggis. It’ll make you want to run through the mountains in a skirt waving your sword like a maniac.

image

Leave a Reply

