Japanese Art

Okay, now that I’m done with my final papers for trimester two (only dissertation left!), I have time to tell you more about Japan! It’s been a long time coming, but I hope it’s worth it!

So, throughout my week in Japan we went to several places exhibiting Japanese art, but most specifically the Tokyo National Museum in Ueno park (it’s actually five different museums for one price – worth it!). They had artifacts from all ages of Japanese history, which is pretty awesome because Japan has been rocking at life for a few thousand years and therefore has some pretty cool ancient stuff.

And here we go…

Lots of gold/brass/bronze Buddhas and other gods.

And this is a mirror. Don’t ask me how (I’m guessing this is actually the back), but remember what I said about Japanese and their attention to detail? Amazing.

Cake stand, sugar bowl, and spoons for tea time. Adorable.

Dragon jug, cause everyone needs one.

This bucket/jug is from ~2,500 BC.

Everything in this case is considered a national treasure. I like the money necklace on the far right.

And this, my friends, is a lotus gong.

See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil? Apparently that’s been around since the 1700s.

Instead of picture book, ancient Japanese children read picture scrolls.

This is a kick-awesome quiver.

Samurai.

Be honest. You’ve always wanted one of these screens.

And this hair ornament.

And this is something I learned how to wield once (and the whole reason I wanted to go to a cultural museum. Katana. Beauty.

And there you have it. I think I might love ancient Japanese culture more than current Japanese culture.

One response to “Japanese Art

Leave a Reply

