Food Stuff

Okay, just two more Japan posts.

This one is about the food, which I know you were all dying to hear about.

I was surprised about the food in Japan, honestly. There are a million convenience stores and a few grocery stores, and that’s mostly what we survived from. So here’s an idea of what we ate.

Incredibly refined and processed pastries (that were delicious, let’s be honest). I was amazed at how many different and interesting pastries they had. Some of my favorites included a melon roll (a bowl-shaped steamed cake with a melon crunchy glaze) and the spiral cake seen in the top row of the picture above, which was like a yellow cake with whipped cream frosting between the layers of the spiral. YUM. They also had savory pastries, like one that I bought to eat more than once: a fluffy roll with a long thin hot dog embedded into it and covered with cheese and herbs. Delightful.

Then there was this:

Super refined, super processed potatoes that came in all kinds of shapes and even more flavors. I am not as big of a fan of this aisle of the convenience store. I don’t know why I struggle so much with potatoes that are warped beyond a recognizable texture and covered in a flavor inducing powder, but seriously, I struggle with it. Can’t even handle Pringles and Cheetos, but in both the UK and in Japan they have chips/crisps that come in crazy shapes like hoops and grids, and I cringe when I see them.

Then there was the amazing Asian food, of course! We got a lot of ready made sushi and noodle meals from the convenience stores, but we did also go out a few times. First of all, shout out to my other most favorite Asian cuisines, Thai and Chinese, both of which we ate in Tokyo, and both of which were different from what one could find in the States, and both of which were absolutely fantastic.

And now for the grand finale.

We went to a conveyor sushi bar on my last night in Tokyo. We could order sushi there like at a regular restaurant, but they also had a conveyor belt which took dishes around, from which a person could pull off the food they wanted.

In case you didn’t catch what was going down that conveyor belt, let me show you a close up:

No, I didn’t eat it. I don’t even know how you could. I had eel, squid, salmon, and avocado sushi, and my favorite miso soup, and I’m happy to leave it at that.

One response to “Food Stuff

Leave a Reply

