Lights, Camera, Action!

I’ve been extremely busy in the past week, so let me tell you about just one of the more exciting bits of my busyness.

Last weekend I had the wonderful opportunity to work on a friend’s graduate short film. On set, which I’d never done before. As the art director, a job title I didn’t even know the description for.

Here’s the job description: Make the set and the props look as authentic and professional as possible.

The film was set mostly in a bingo hall – which is a place and a culture I’ve never ventured to before. Bingo ladies are hilarious. I can totally see a bunch of my friends becoming bingo ladies in about 30-40 years.

But since we shot on location, my job mostly consisted of taking care of the props – making sure they were in the right place at the right time, and making sure the set was clean – no cups and napkins from crew members lying around after a snack break.

Before the shoot (or at least my part of the shoot) I did have to shop around for some props which was pretty exciting. Apparently it’s a big thing to have “mascots” when you play bingo – good luck charms. Which makes bingo ladies even more hilarious. Little Buddhas were popular.

Another great part of this is that the shoots took place from 9:30 pm-7:30 am (because we couldn’t very well shoot in a bingo hall when actual bingo was going on!). This schedule cause a bit of delirium among the crew…but I don’t think that affected the film, too much.

It was a great insight for me to see how a film is actually made, how a director works, and hopefully that will only make my writing better. I also got the chance to see some one set jobs that I would like to try out – art director was great, and there is more I’d love to try. Time to start volunteering for many more short films!

We finally wrapped at 8 am on Sunday! Long fought and well deserved. 🙂

 

One response to “Lights, Camera, Action!

Leave a Reply

