Frozen Free Fall

So back when I was taking an interactive media class, I decided I needed to do a little more research – aka get into games a little more. Because I really don’t play any kind of game unless it’s a social activity – screen or otherwise. But if I was supposed to theoretically develop a game or a phone app, then I should use a game, or more phone apps (I am very minimalist when it comes to my phone). So I downloaded this little beauty called Frozen Free Fall. Like Candy Crush only with a Frozen theme.

Why am I talking about this now?

Because even long after that class was over, I continued to play this game. I played it almost every day. At least five days a week.

And just a few days before I finished my screenplay, I beat the game.

Addicted as I may I have been, I have to say I’m relieved it’s over. But it was actually a really good game, and here’s why:

  1. You’d run out of lives, and then you were done. At least, for a while. Each life would take half an hour to generate, up to a maximum of five lives. It would only take 15-20 minutes to run out of lives, so then you’d have to wait a little over two hours to get them all back. I just imagined having this game with kids, and thinking, I’d be okay with them playing for 15-20 minutes, and then they’d have to be done with it for the next two hours in which they could potentially do homework. Or go outside.
  2. The levels got significantly harder and most actually required strategy to win. After playing this game for….a few months…I noticed some general patterns, but also different challenges would come up every few levels. The game followed the timeline of the film, so when you’d reach a certain location on the map, a different challenge would come up. For example, wolves or the killer snowman Marshmallow.
  3. The music. Was hauntingly beautiful. Which actually kept me from playing it in public because I always wanted to play it with the music, so it never got in the way of socializing. Except a few times when people were at my place and I wasn’t really involved with the conversation…
  4. The graphics and animation were top notch. I mean, I wouldn’t expect less from a Disney product. But it was beautiful to look at.

Okay, that’s all the praise I can give it. In truth, it was an addictive game that would totally take advantage of someone willing to make in-app purchases (I never did because I have an aversion to paying for things on my phone). But hey, it gave me a ton of much needed brain breaks while writing. Sometimes you just gotta go with the things that saves your sanity.

One response to “Frozen Free Fall

  1. Pingback: BrainJuice: 5 Ways to PROcrastinate like a PRO | CatchingAutumn·

Leave a Reply

