Food, Flora, and Felines

Before I went to Spain, everyone was telling me how amazing the food was. Here is my blog post about that amazing food, as well as two other things I found amazing in Spain (the flora and felines, in case you couldn’t guess).

My first morning in Spain, my friend and I went out for a late breakfast of tapas. I’m not sure what the actual translation of tapas is, if there even is one, but basically, it’s like appetizers for hecka cheap and endlessly.

image

There you can see a forkful of Spanish omelet (I was in love with the three pronged fork) and in the background the delightful Spanish bread, and in the very back, little chunks of pork swimming in oil and herbs to put on the bread.

image

Here you can see more of that delightful bread, and a skewer of chicken soaked in something yellow and delicious, and between the bread you can see “Russian salad” which was basically like coleslaw with chunks of the most delectable savory cheese. Heartthrob.
For my birthday dinner, I got two half portions of dishes because I couldn’t decide what I wanted.

image

On the left is little fried chunks of some fish, Rosada, which is apparently really common and a must-have in Andalucia, so I’m glad I tried it. And I completely understand why it’s a must-have. It was so light and melty and not fishy at all. Probably caught that day.
On the right are little pork and chicken sausages braised in who knows what but pure joy. But more than that, all of the sauces were breathtaking. Really the highlight of the dinner.
And on my last night in Spain, we went to a super posh restaurant in Malaga. There we split a paella.

image

Rice with a variety of seafood, and again cooked in something wonderful in regards to spices, sauce, and marinade. Whatever it was, I commend it. We got the “mixed” paella, so I’m not sure what all was in it, but I did identify mussels, scallops, shrimp, and prawns. There was something else that looked like squid but was far, far less chewy than any squid I’d ever had before, and tasted like angel kisses.

image

Notice how that prawn is whole with eyes and everything? Well I’ve never had one with more than a tail before (uncultured swine that I am) so this was an adventure.
The first prawn I managed to extract from its shell (skin? Exoskeleton?) pretty successfully. And it tasted great. The second prawn…I got the tail off fine. And most of its head. Then I tried to get the exoskeleton off all in one go with the legs and vein and red/pink liquid started spurting out, and the vein disintegrated into tiny pieces. While I’m sure that liquid wasn’t blood…I didn’t eat that prawn. Haha. Luckily I was almost done with the rest of the dish by that time.
And on that pleasant image, let us move on to something slightly more beautiful.

image

I’ve never seen hibiscus growing in the wild, along with the rest of these flowers I’m just going to post in a stream, none if which do I know the names for except the lily (first) and the bird of paradise (second).

image

image

image

image

image

Don’t those flowers look like little flamenco dancers? Love it.
And I can’t leave out all the palm trees. 🙂

image

Almost as frequent as the beautiful flowers in Spain were the stray cats. I assume they were stray, but they were fluffy and beautiful and very calm, so maybe they just leave their masters’ homes and hang out at tourist spots all day.

image

That one was at the old Roman theater in Malaga. Below are all the cats that were at the Balcony of Europe in Nerja.

image

image

This is how close I could get before the cat even noticed I was there:

image

This one was at the beach in Nerja:

image

And these were my lunch companions at the Cuevas de Nerja, not shy in the last about begging for food from me:

image

Crazy cats. Really.

One response to “Food, Flora, and Felines

Leave a Reply

