On the Set Again

All I can say is, thank goodness my film career didn’t come to a halt when I move back to the US. I am extremely lucky to have a cousin close by who does freelance film making and is willing to let me get some experience with him. I’ve been on three different shoots with him in the past two weeks, and it feel absolutely fantastic to be on a film set once again.

We’re just doing corporate videos and commercial stuff, but while that sounds boring, I find it just as fun as making a film for entertainment. That’s probably because I’m still on a learning curve. I am learning fantastic things about cinematography, lighting, sound, and continuity, and while for now I’m and extra hand setting up lights and tripods and holding reflectors and diffusers, and hopefully soon I’ll be able to be behind the camera.

I’m about to start reading The Bare Bones Camera Course for Film and Video by Tom Schroeppel. I’ve been interested in cinematography for a long time, and have dabbled in self-taught still photography. But with the combined power of understanding cinematography and screenwriting…what can’t I do?

But my most favorite thing about working on set is seeing all the little pieces come together into a beautiful whole. Little lines of dialogue from one take to the next, different camera angles, different lighting situations, at first they all seem incongruous, but suddenly they all meld and make something amazing. Or terrible. But hopefully amazing.

I enjoy film making immensely. I cannot think of a more rewarding and fulfilling career.

Leave a Reply

