Say Geronimo

You’ve all heard it by now…that hit song from the new band Sheppard, “Say Geronimo.”

This blog is not about that song. I’m just using the title because this blog is about a waterfall.

Which is mentioned probably 30 times in the song’s repetitive lyrics.

(I actually quite like the song, it’s upbeat and catchy, and the lyrics are no more repetitive than most pop songs these days).

I think I’ve mentioned before how I love hiking. So I’ve been trying to go on more hikes. And being the kind of girl I am, when I decide I want something, it happens by sheer will power.

Hike #1:

Battle Creek Falls

Apparently the Mormon pioneers that settled Utah had a skirmish with the Timpanogos Indians here in 1850, thus the name Battle Creek. This is a short hike, just over 1 1/2 miles there and back. Alternatively, you can keep going up a less-traveled trail to a second falls.

The hike starts in the eastern-most corner of Pleasant Grove City in Utah county (in the Wasatch mountains). It’s only moderately steep, a lot more steep if you want to go above the falls, but if you are satisfied to see the falls from the bottom, then you might not even break a sweat – depending on what time of day you go/what season, as Utah’s summers are literally killer (this is a desert; never, ever forget that).

The best part about this hike? This:

The view of Utah County from the top of the falls. That body of water is Utah Lake. Do not drink the water of Utah Lake. You will get sick. You may die. I don’t know, I’ve actually ever been to Utah Lake. Because it’s infamously dirty (but projects are underway to remedy that).

Also, there’s little I love more than climbing fallen trees:

Hike #2:

Donut Falls

This is one of the most popular hikes in Utah, I think, about nine miles up Big Cottonwood Canyon near Sandy City (again, Wasatch Mountains). It’s a super easy hike, but there are a couple of trail splits, so you could potentially wind up wandering for hours (I believe always taking a left will get you to the falls the most quickly). When you reach the falls, this beautiful sight will greet you:

Beautiful because I L-O-V-E climbing over boulders. Soooo much. So naturally, I scampered up through the waterfall to the top, which is the best vantage point to see why the waterfall is called “Donut Falls”:

How did this happen? I have no idea, my guess would be a soft spot/crack in the rock water started leaking through and never stopped…

In the old days, kids were known to ride through the hole like a waterslide, but that is definitely banned now because this water contributes to the watershed that most people in Salt Lake County get their drinking water from. Soo…not the best idea to get human bodies in it (although I’m sure plenty of animal waste gets in it and that’s apparently not as gross as humans…).

Here’s a picture from below the hole:

Now that’s a waterfall you could really get behind.

And with that awful pun, I hope you’ve enjoyed my brief travel brochure on two of Utah’s waterfalls, because that’s all folks!

Leave a Reply

