Zoorassic Park

To continue my Utah tourism pamphlet blog posts, this weekend I went to the zoo’s (Utah’s Hogle Zoo, to be specific) special exhibit, Zoorassic Park.

As you may have guessed, they have animatronic dinosaurs placed throughout the park.

Those are Coelophisis (SEE-low-FY-sis). They kinda look like the raptors in Jurassic World so that’s pretty rad.

The complete list of dinosaurs at the park is found here. My personal favorite is the Stegosaurus. He’s cute and rawrs. 🙂

I want a pet Stego sooooo bad it hurts!!!

They had some dinos that were moms and babies, some that were popping out of their eggs, some that were “sleeping” and you could touch them…I’m gonna be honest here, my excitement about it was paramount to a primary-aged child. I think most kids go through a dino-loving stage…mine was pretty long. It might still be going. I’m totally blaming The Land Before Time, too. Those films we watch as children shape our entire lives. I’m just glad I watched good ones.

The zoo itself has changed a ton in the ~15 years it’s been since I last visited. They have a bird entertainment show. They are training their seals and sea lions for a similar show. There’s a carousel. There is a splash park. But there is about 50% of the animals there previously was.

The good thing is, a lot of the animal’s habitats have become more natural, for example, there is just a wide field of grass and mud where the giraffes, zebras, and ostriches all live together, and there is a deck at the giraffes’ height so you can get close to them like never before.  I don’t even think you can get that close at the safari park at the San Diego zoo (which is America’s most impressive zoo that I’ve been to), at least not without paying for it. The lions have a similar enclosure nearby. So that’s pretty cool.

I’m just curious about the zoo’s strategy, because it started to feel like a Sea World type of amusement park. If they put a rollercoaster in, I guess I’ll know. I honestly don’t know how much I would’ve enjoyed it without my totes adorbs niece there with me.

Vienna’s zoo is still the most impressive one I’ve been to. Followed by Edinburgh and then San Diego, if we’re going to rank them. But it’s all about having the animals I love. If you don’t have a red panda and/or penguins, why am I even going to the zoo? Honestly.

Leave a Reply

