Redirection

I’ve had two inspiring weekends in a row. So I’ve decided to change some things.

The first change I am making is this blog.

Let’s face it, it’s not nearly as fun to read (or write) about my daily life now that I’m working full time and only going on adventures occasionally, especially when these adventures don’t involve brand new experiences and places. I think you can tell that my writing on this blog has slowed down significantly. And it’s not nearly as witty. It’s hard to be as witty when you’re not surrounded by clever Brits. But I do have a ton of thoughts I’d like to express and throw out into the internet abyss, so I’m going to go ahead and change this blog to be the platform for that.

You see, if you talk to anyone who has gone to Salt Lake Comic Con about their experience, and ask them for reasons why they loved it, I can pretty much guarantee they’ll bring up at some point: I love comic con because it’s a totally accepting, non-judgmental atmosphere. Because it is. I personally think this is largely due to a large portion, if not a majority, of comic con goers having been teased or worse about their interests and hobbies. But since we’re all in the same place enjoying those interests and hobbies together, even if they aren’t identical, we’re all happy to encourage each other in all the various fandoms and gaming styles. Because it doesn’t matter if you prefer Star Wars or Star Trek (even if we do pretend like it’s a big deal). We all know that what really matters is that you are passionate about something, usually because that something has added meaning to your life, and we respect your enthusiasm.

On top of that, this past weekend was the General Conference of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, of which I am a devoted member. And lately I have been contemplating the state of the world – emotionally and psychologically – and I feel like a lot of people out there are missing some essential understandings about happiness and productivity. These feelings were reaffirmed repeatedly during the conference, and it gave me a lot of ideas for things that I can do personally to help people out, and hopefully give them some tools to live higher, better, happier.

So with the combination of those two things, I am redirecting the theme and purpose of this blog. Before it was about experiencing humanity as a stranger in a strange land. Now it is about experiencing humanity by reconciling philosophical, spiritual, and emotional experiences with both myth and reality, in order to provide meaning and connection with others. In other words, it’s going to get a lot more personal up in here.

I’ve explained before that the name of my blog is an allusion to the poem attributed to Robert Burns: “Comin’ Thro’ the Rye.” The poem talks about a girl, Jenny, wandering through a rye field, and there she meets another “body,” and they kiss (at least). I’m taking that to a figurative level: I’m wandering through the rye field of life, and I’m hoping to meet other “bodies” and share something with them – something enlightening, uplifting, and paradigm shifting.

I hope you all look forward to hearing my interpretation of life. Don’t worry, it will still be full of pop culture references. But I’m gonna add in my religious beliefs, my personal experiences, and my philosophical viewpoints, and hopefully achieve my new goal: to help people feel like they are not alone in this world – that there are other people out there who see what they see. Because I sincerely believe that no one is alone, and I don’t want people to feel that way.

Leave a Reply

